An Inside Look at How the Trainers Do It: Joe Caruso

headshot_joeWhat exercises do you do? How often do you workout? What do you eat to stay trim and slim? These are questions that FT Trainer Joe Caruso hears a lot from his clients. Everyone wants to know the secret to success.

Well, now’s our chance to find out. For the next few weeks, Joe will chronicle his eating and exercise habits and share them with the FT family giving us an inside look at how the trainers do it.

Let’s get started by learning more about Joe.

Q: How did you first become involved in fitness? Was there a defining moment?

A: My passion for fitness started in the 90’s. I remember watching movies with Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sylvester Stallone and wanting to look like them. I asked my dad what I needed to do to look like them. I was 13 years old when my dad bought me my first bench set. We set it up and right out of the gate he stuck me under a 200lb. bench press. The bar crushed me. Most people would have given up, not me. I decided at that moment I was going to bench that 200 and I haven’t looked back since.

Q: Did you have any other role models that inspired you?

A: Sure there are a number of them. Walter Payton was a huge inspiration. He was all heart in everything that he did. He was a 9-time pro-bowler, 2-time MVP, held NFL rushing record and single game rushing records and what he did off the field was even more impressive. He always tried to give back to those less fortunate – an amazing role model.

Q: Why did you decide to become a personal trainer?

A: I made every single mistake you could in my fitness journey. But through my failures, I also learned how to do it right the next time. After working with a few of my friends on their training routines, I realized I had a knack for it. I could see myself doing this as a career. Plus, it helped me stay in shape and on top of my game.

Q: Who are you certified by? Did you go to school for personal training?

A: I am certified by the American College of Sports Medicine and the National Strength Conditioning Association. I have a degree in Exercise Physiology from UMASS Boston. I also recently received my certification as a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer (CF-L1).

Q: What does your weekly training regime look like?

A: I break my exercise routine into three parts. First, I start with strength training focusing on one specific body part (arms, chest, back, shoulders, or legs) per day, then I do an intense abdominal routine to keep my core nice and tight, and I finish up with an intense cardio routine. I’ll admit, cardio is my least favorite part of the routine so I make sure to use HIIT training to maximize the output in the fastest amount of time.

Q: What about your diet?

A: When I am in training mode, my diet has to be spot on. I eat clean only lean proteins, green veggies, and small amounts of healthy carbs. I try to keep the meals simple, easy to prepare, and repeatable. It helps me stay on track and avoid slipups. I also avoid any processed foods and sugar, which can quickly derail diets.

Q: Do you also use supplements?

A: Yes, I use some core supplements to help maximize my energy and strength during workouts and to help my muscles recover post-workout. I highly recommend BCAAs (branch chain amino acids), whey protein powder, creatine monohydrate (strength building), Beta alanine (increases work capacity, endurance, and combats fatigue) and Glutamine (helpful with recovery).

Q: We are going to be following you for the next few weeks to get an inside look at how trainers attain their fitness goals. What are your goals right now?

A: I am getting married this Fall to my fiancé Krissy Gridley. I want to be the best version of myself for the wedding. My goals right now is to cut weight and body fat so I am shredded. I want to keep all my size but get my body comp down. It is a tricky goal to accomplish.

Q: What are your stats right now and where do you want them to be when you are done?

A: Right now I am at 178 lbs. and 20% body fat. My goal is to reduce my weight to 165 and body fat to 7-8%. I am also working on PRs (personal record) for a few big lifts. Right now my stats are:

  • Deadlift – 385 lbs.
  • Squat – 305 lbs.
  • Bench – 275 lbs.

And I want to get to:

  • Deadlift – 450-500 lbs.
  • Squat – 400 lbs.
  • Bench – 350 lbs.

Working toward these goals will also help me in cutting weight and reducing body fat percentage.

Q: How are you going to achieve these goals?

A: It’s a combination of the right exercise, diet, and nutrients to help my body achieve its best state. I don’t have a lot of weight to lose so it is about dumping the body fat and building up clean muscle one pound at a time. I’ll walk you through how I tackle this in the next few blogs.

In our next blog we will speak to Joe about his strength training approach and how you can incorporate it into your own training routine.

To learn more about Fitness Together, contact a studio near you today.

FT Dedham
781-461-9300
www.FTDedham.com

FT Norwell
781-659-0034
www.FTNorwell.com

FT Westborough
508-366-0099
www.FTWestborough.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Exercise, Fitness

Leave a Reply

