Confessions of a Lapsed Fitness Together Client

by FT Client Martha Leta

Forgive me Fitness Together, for I have sinned. It has been a year and a half since my last session. I have examined my muscle tone, strength and flexibility and found them sorely lacking. I have, middle-aged slacker that I am, denied or doubted my need for weight training. I have, in my year since straying, disobeyed my trainer in important matters; I did not stay faithful to my food journal, nor did I give thought to my dwindling muscle mass and bone density. I have willfully neglected my squat-thrusts, chest-presses and chin-ups in favor of superficial fitness. I went to places of false workouts. Yeah, though I shimmy-shake through the valley of Zumba, I have developed the beginnings of a tire around my middle and have begun giving serious thought to wearing SPANX. To bed. And maybe in the shower.

And now, sinner that I am, I have returned to Fitness Together full of contrition, all flabby inner thighs and bat wings. I have thrown myself upon the mercy of the Priestess of the Plank, Alicia Tansey, at FT Norwell. While I have been off wandering through the fields of the Slacking Triceps, and the Hills of the Sloping Gluteus Maximus, Alicia has been working hard to come up with new ways to build us into stronger and healthier individuals—tricky things with ropes and bungee cords. Take pity on me, oh Great Trainer, for I have become weak and I see that gigantic tractor tire leaning against the wall. Give me strength. Amen.

Martha Leta
Client FT Norwell

I started going to FT in Norwell back in 2008 with the goal of a little weight loss and a lot of fitness improvement. My mother was of the “Mad Men” generation and thought muscles were unattractive on women. She smoked and drank with Hollywood-style panache and stuffed herself into girdles rather than exercise. That practice didn’t serve her well in her later years, and as I watched her body and health collapse like a house of cards, I vowed not to follow the same path. I loved my FT workouts knowing that all I had to do was show up on time with a willing attitude and leave an hour later having gotten the best possible workout in the shortest amount of time. I went faithfully and soon saw and felt real benefits–strength, muscle, fitness and improvement in my general sense of well-being. But then things came up, life interruptus, and I took a break in winter of 2010. In the interim did fairly well keeping up with my cardio, but not so much with the weight training. I hit the big Five-Oh last November and began noticing some collapsing of my own. Luckily, I’ve just joined the FT team as Marketing Coordinator (Maybe that “WILL WORK FOR WORKOUTS” sign did the trick after all) and am happy to be back training with Alicia Tasney. I had my first full session today. As we go along, I hope to share some of the ups and downs of my progress. Maybe an article or two along the way.

Fitness Together Norwell

Our full list of Northern New England FT Studios can be found on FTGetsResults.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise, Fitness, Fitness Tips, Health, Healthy Snacks, Uncategorized, Weight Gain, Weight Loss, Workout

Leave a Reply

